RetroBSD

2.11BSD operating system for microcontrollers
It is currently Thu Dec 13, 2018 5:45 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 12:10 pm 
Contributor

Hi, as the retrobsd becomes more and more mature :) it seems it could be used for some serious design. What I see important for such design is following:
1. booting directly into system, no login, starting couple of user apps in bg, and cron scheduled one apps
2. "halt" upon power loss (with a backup source)
3. flashing unix.hex via pickit
4. no USB running (also to decrease power consumption)
5. 2 uarts (1 console + uart)
6. 2 SPI
7. gpio
8. adc
9. running at lower clock (power consumption).

5,6,7,8 - is configurable and I did it in past (Matt's configs)
9 - never done at lower clocks (ie 16MHz)
4 - probably barebone config - we need to set clock, etc.
3 - -"- barebone config
1, 2 - I've never done it before, "halt upon power down" is essential - a blackbox with an On/Off switch only, none personnel at the data center waiting on my service ticket for a shutdown of the mainframe at the specific time :)

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 12:40 pm 
Committer

Location: Room 217, Floor 8, Arm 8, Wheel S7, Mars Base Alpha 3
The best solution for the power down problem is to configure the system so that the majority of the flash is never mounted read-write. The main root partition should be read only so it never gets corrupted - it's only a data partition that ever gets mounted read-write, and you can mitigate most damage to that FS on power loss by forcing a sync() after your writing sessions.

Yes, it's still good to do a clean shutdown, but with a read-only system partition a dirty shutdown won't affect the system at all and will still boot up fine - at least far enough for you to then log into the system remotely and repair the data partition should it ever be needed.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 12:54 pm 
Contributor